The Weekend 04/05/2004

So this weekend...

Friday I was scheduled to go work on a film shoot, only this time I was actually acting in it. My call time was six pm, and it was only a two minute scene. How hard could it be?

So, I set up a meeting with a friend of mine for after she gets out of rehearsal so she can give me hand with my audition pieces... Since I was auditioning with them the next day for some summer Shakespeare. So we set up a meeting for 10:00.

At 5:00 I get a call from the Asst. Director (AD), telling me that they moved my call time back to 10:00. so I call up my friend and tell her that I wouldn't be able to work with her that evening after all.
At 8:00 I get another call from the AD, telling me that they were moving my call time back to midnight, but only if I wanted to eat. If I didn't care, then my call was really 2:00am.

So I call my friend again, and tell her that if she still wanted to help me, I was available and would fully appreciate it.
She agrees to help me and I get some good work done. Only now I'm worried about the film shoot keeping me out too late, so that my audition the next day (at noon) would turn out like shit.
But I just relax, taking it as it comes.

So I show up at 2:00 at the film shoot, get into costume, and proceed to stand around bored off my ass for two hours until they are ready for me.
And then it took them another 2 hours to film my scene.

So, it's now six in the morning and I have to be up in 4 hours to prepare for my audition and, oh yeah, get ready for work, since I was scheduled from 1 to 10 that day.

I show up to my audition, groggy and sore, and the artistic director says to me, "What the hell are you doing here?"
"I'm here to audition," I say.
"I know," he says. "But I don't need to see you. Just show up to callbacks."

Hearing those words come out of the mouth of a director is always a significant boost to the self-esteem, but I asked if I could audition anyway, since the practice never hurts. He told me to come back Monday and audition then.

Thank God for the little things, is all I'm saying.


In other news... The G.A.B. was successfully completed, at least by yours truly, with the exception of the time I spent at work, though my mom decided to turn on every light in the house that evening... That was frustrating.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!