The Weekend, pt 1 08/17/2004

Okay, so this past weekend...

On Saturday, I only had a few things to do. First, I had to get to the airport, to catch a flight to Las Vegas.
Trust me, it's not what you think... I was going to a wedding. Er... It's still not what you think.

I know, I know... the only people who'd get married in Vegas are either drunk or eloping.
Except this time. My very good friend Austin (founder of The D.Wrail Arts Foundation and coiner of the phrase "apathy assassin") finally tied the knot. For real this time.

You see, he was supposed to tie the knot on Friday. On a boat in Newport. Except, he fooled everyone when the bride called the whole thing off.
Now, as bummed as I was, being the best man and all, as well as being a big supporter of Austin getting married and out of the bachelor world... I was also celebrating, just a little.
Because if the wedding was off, I could perform in Macbeth through August, which I couldn't do if I was going to be in a wedding on one of the show dates, which I was.

And so of course he called me a month ago to inform me that the wedding was back on. Only now it was in Vegas on a Saturday.

So after much wrangling, pushing, and prodding, we managed to get me a flight into Vegas, just in time for the ceremony, as well as get me a flight out 3 hours later, just in time for the show.
So, after we get all this planned, the night before the wedding, Austin calls me, threatening to call the whole fucking thing off because they had a fight.

Is anyone else slapping their forehead in amazement yet?

So I flew out of Long Beach, not really having any idea if there was going to actually be a wedding or not.

There was, and it was surprisingly nice. I guess I expected Vegas weddings to be a little more trashy, although I have no idea why I might have had that expectation. After the ceremony, I made the flight back home (barely), made the show (cutting it really close), and that was that. I thought.

2:30 in the morning, I get a call from Austin, who wanted to chat a bit while his new wife was in the bathroom changing into something sexy so they could consumate their marriage in style.

Maybe it's just me, but I would have expected a little more anticipation for the events to come (ahem), and less time thinking about calling a pal of mine.
Does that strike anyone as wierd? You're just about to have sex, and with someone you love enough to get married to, and you're thinking about your best friend...

Austin always gets a little jealous, because I joke about being his wife's affair in twenty years... but maybe it's his wife who should be a little jealous...


anyway, that was Saturday... But don't worry, the fun didn't stop their... I got a whole other day of excitement to fill you in on next time... stay tuned... By the by, go and wish Cruel-Irony a happy birthday, since that's coming up here really soon.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!