More injustice and outrage 05/31/2004

So do you all remember reading about this? Well, there's some follow-up news that gets me even more outraged.

So by January this year, my buddy's got paperwork from the court, the DA office, and his $1000 lawyer, all saying that the case is closed, all charges dropped... because the DA made a mistake and issued a warrant on a closed case.

Well, in March they did it again... Issued a warrant out for my buddy, for a case that's been closed... twice.
And two days ago he gets arrested, his car gets impounded, and bail is set for $1500.

So we're already looking at more than $3000 that he's paying because people in the legal system don't know how to do their fucking job.

Well, to top it all, my buddy was engaged. I say was because his fiancee broke up with him because of all this shit. It's sort of understandable, she's got a kid, and has to do what's best for her son, and a husband who can't stay out of jail, whether it's his fault or not, is kind of a problem, especially if she's got to fork out $1500 in bail money. That's an entire month of rent for most people.

So in addition to forking over $3000, the DA also took away his family, because of their incompetence.

And what do you bet, that going into court, he gets the same runaround as last time.

This is really pathetic, and I'm thinking a letter to the governor is in order. I'm also thinking that letters to the local newspapers are in order, too.

Everyone needs to know that the DA is not acting accountable to the people they are supposed to be protecting, and even the innocent citizens they represent are at risk because of their apathy and incompetence.

If you live in Orange County and/or California, spread the word and the outrage. My buddy is giving up on California, and is only a step away from moving to Australia, since this country has taken everything away from him. Right now, I don't blame him.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!