Prisoner of Azkaban 06/04/2004

...And I very nearly didn't make the midnight showing of Harry Potter...

Given how much I read, it shouldn't surprise anyone that I'm a pretty big Harry Potter fan. I know that's not typical behavior for your average 25 year old male, but I'd like to think I'm not your typical 25 year old male. For instance... I like to think. I like to read...

Anyway, yeah. Harry Potter fan. And while I enjoyed watching the first two films, Chris Columbus is a horrible director. Couldn't even find the Indies, he's so bad. Plus, the script for the second film blew asshole.
So I got pretty excited when I heard that the director of Y tu Mama, tambien was taking over for the third one. Plus, all the exposition was taken care of in the first two films, so we didn't have to worry about going through that bullshit this time around either.

So last night I had planned to go see a midnight showing of the film with some other Harry Potter nerds.
But before I did that, I needed to drive up to Los Angeles to support some of my friends, who were putting together an actor's showcase for agents.

So I went up there, and was one of four people in the audience, and unfortunately, no one was an agent or casting director. Which was too bad because the scenes were really really fucking good.
We all had a good time anyway, and after the showcase we went to The Cat and The Fiddle for food and drink.

Things got tricky by this point. Because these people are my very good friends, and I love hanging out with them. But it's also a 45 minute drive back to Orange County and the movie theater. So I didn't want to be rude by leaving so soon, but I also didn't want to miss the film.

Eleven o' clock rolls around, and I make a dignified escape (ie. said some pleasant goodbyes and left), and start jamming down the freeway.

I'm making great time, until all but one of the lanes on the freeway get closed down for construction. With 20 minutes til showtime.

Yeah, I've written off making the midnight showing... especially since babies could have crawled faster than I was moving at that point.

5 minutes to go, I clear the traffic and jet my ass to the theatre.

Wouldn't you know it, I still ended up getting the opportunity to make fun of the Catwoman trailer before the movie started. That movie looks like a total piece of shit. I don't know how DC comics let them get away with that one.

Anyway, the movie was excellent. It gets a hearty recommendation from this book nerd.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!