The Urban Art Movement 03/18/2004

"The only thing you need to be good at in life is lying. Once you've mastered that you instantly become good at everything else."

I'm not sure if this is a direct quote by Banksy, or if it's a quote from somebody else. Doesn't matter, I think. The point is still made.

Who is Banksy, you ask? Banksy is one of the pioneers of the urban art movement, not to be confused with graffiti.
No, Banksy is a person with something to say, and lives with the mentality that "a wall is just as good a place to publish as anywhere else."

People are getting pissed off at the stupidity of the world, though I think anyone who reads me regularly would find this to be no big surprise.
I fallen in love with the idea that there's no such thing as an innocent bystander. Of course, that just serves to get me more pissed at the inertia of society. If it's possible that every person in the world can do their part to help, why aren't they? (rhetorical)

This is what I love about urban art.
Consider this quote by Shepard Fairey, creator of the Obey Campaign: "The Obey campaign can be explained as an experiment in Phenomenology. The first aim in Phenomenology is to reawaken a sense of wonder about one's environment. The Obey campaign attempts to stimulate curiosity and bring people to question both the campaign and their relationship with their surroundings. Because people are not used to seeing advertisements or propaganda for which the motive is not obvious, frequent and novel encounters with Obey propaganda provoke thought and possible frustration, nevertheless revitalizing the viewer's perception and attention to detail. The medium is the message."

Anyway... I support the urban art movement, and I encourage you to do the same. But even if you don't, I think it would be worth your while to check out the D.wrail Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to providing services, resources, and support to new or struggling artists.

Art is supposed to be a mirror, held up to society, showing the reflection the artist wants us to see. But a shower of censorship and fear from people who don't want to think is clouding up the mirror, and it's getting harder and harder for society to reflect on itself.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!