Just think, this describes the majority of my generation... 07/21/2004

"Think for yourself. Question authority.
Throughout human history, as our species has faced the frightening, terrorizing fact that we do not know who we are, or where we are going in this ocean of chaos, it has been the authorities- the political, the religious, the educational authorities- who attempted to comfort us by giving us order, rules, regulations... Informing, forming in our minds their view of reality.
To think for yourself you must question authority and learn how to put yourself in a state of vulnerable open-mindedness- chaotic, confused vulnerability- to inform yourself."
--Dr. Timothy Leary

Granted Leary advocated the use of LSD in order to open up states of vulnerable open-mindedness, but he has a point. A point I try very hard to maintain.

A few weeks ago, my sister asks us (me, my mom, and my mom's boyfriend) what we think of all the political hubbub.
This wasn't going to go well. My mom's boyfriend is staunchly conservative and avidly supportive of Bush, and I am neither. He seems to think this means I lump myself in with the Kerry supporters, but I'm not a big fan of him either, though running with Edwards was the best thing Kerry has done for his campaign to date.

Well, my mom's boyfriend launches into his pro-Bush monologue, which gets me groaning almost immediately.

I interrupt and ask, "Why do you even care?"
She says, "Well, I want to know who to vote for in November."

That just pissed me off. You don't care enough to find out your own opinions on an issue, but are willing to lump yourself in with the majority instead? Gimme a break, and wake the fuck up.

She says, "I just don't want to waste my time looking up the issues and keep abreast of everything when you can do it for me."

I'm not your conscience, I'm not your advisor. I'm my own person with my own thoughts and opinions. You want to talk to me about em, fine, but don't ask me for my opinion so that you can copy your own from me.

It's no accident that on my side-bar, I list one of the things I hate as "Close-minded whiny lemmings." It's just disappointing to me to learn my sister is one of them.


By the by, one of my favorite ads for Fahrenheit 9/11 is on the TOOL website. It lists the movie, and then says simply, "Think for yourself."

I couldn't agree more.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!