Never Gonna Finish 06/20/2004

For a phenomenally good laugh, go read dangerspouse's version of Lord of the Flies...


So quite a few years ago I had this idea...

I was going through some hard-core depression at the time, mainly due to my anxiety attacks, and I had taken to writing things out to expel the shit from my system, so to speak.
At the same time, I came up with an idea for a vampire story, but one that completely reinvented the vampire mythos: mainly that they don't feed on the blood of humans but the souls of humans.
It's a convoluted storyline to say the least, and I'm not going to confuse or bore you with the details.

Suffice to say, I typed up six chapters or so, and ended up breaking free of the worst of my depression.
And suddenly, I lacked the impetus to write anymore of my story.

This really pissed off my very good friend Austin, who had been told the entire convoluted plotline and thought it was a helluva good idea.
He began to get into the habit of telling me, everytime he saw me, to "finish your fucking book." He'd also kick me in the foot everytime I made a pun, which was often. What can I say, I got soul...

A couple of months ago he told me he'd stop telling me to finish my book if I would agree to go to an art show on the 19th of June.
Rather, he said he wouldn't tell me to finish my book up through the art show as long as I agreed to go.

By now, I would have said yes just for a break of his badgering, regardless of what the event was, but the fact was it was an art show, which always peaks my interest anyway.
It was also an art show featuring Shepard Fairey and The London Police, among others. Urban art, something I've become quite interested in as of late... ironically due to Austin's influence.

So, in any event, I would have said yes regardless. But the break from his nearly daily reminders to finish my book were refreshing. Especially since I'm not sure if I'll ever finish that book. Certainly not with the frame of mind I had when I started it.

Anyway, the hiatus of Austin's needling ended last night... And so it begins again.

*sigh

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!