Handsel and Grittle 2004-01-05

Eh, Mondays. If you're like me, today marks the official first day back to work after 2 weeks of winter holiday. Yeah, happy new year to you, too.

You know what bugs me about New Years? I'll tell you...
I love the fact that you spend time with your friends and family or whatever, ushering in the new year with a bottle of champagne and a smile. I love that people always have so much hope for the upcoming year. But I'm fucking tired New Years Resolutions.
These goals we set that we give up on after two weeks. Plus, what does that mean for our self esteem?

"This year, I resolve to be a better person." Doesn't that mean that last year, you weren't that good of a person?

"I resolve to get in shape." Because last year, I was lazy and more interested in catching every episode of Survivor than I was in moving my fat, tubby ass around in a feeble attempt at excersize.

"I resolve to quit smoking." Not because I want to, but because everyone will finally shut the fuck up if I do.

Resolutions depress me, because it means that we are focusing on our failures, with a resolve to not repeat them. And while it's good to not want to repeat your failures, how often do we end failing anyway?
So this year, instead of resolutions, give yourself a handsel.

Handsel - noun: a gift made as a token of good wishes or luck especially at the beginning of a new year

Traditionally, as far back as the 1200s, handsels were given out on the first Monday of the New Year, as a good luck charm. People often gave out handsels whenever they entered a new situation or condition. They hoped it would help help set the tone for the events to come.

Me? The handsel I'm giving myself is a detox. I highly recommend it to all of you.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!