Season Greetings 2003-11-28

Much thanks to galtopinup for offering to be a model for me today. I'd nearly forgotten how much I enjoyed drawing live subjects.


Thanksgiving is always a weird holiday for me. It marks the official beginning of the holiday season (for those who, like me, come from a Anglo-Saxon Protestant background), a decent into Christmas and New Years, and more drinking in three weeks than I do all year.
It just depresses me, I guess. The people I want to see, I can't see.

Like my brother. I miss that guy bad. he gets into town the 17th, and leaves the 23rd or 24th. Because his wife can't stand to be away from her family on Christmas.
I understand the feeling, but how about a little fucking consideration?
Don't get me wrong, I love my sister-in-law to death, but she gets to see my brother all year, but she won't budge on the holidays. It seems so selfish to me, but then I realize that I'm also being selfish.
So, the whole thing depresses me.

The other thing that gets me is the whole issue of presents. I love giving gifts. I love it. I love the smiles, I love putting thought into each one, finding the perfect gift. What I hate is when everyone asks me, "So what do you want this year?"
Shit, isn't this sort of thing supposed to be a surprise? So fucking surprise me!

What do I want? I want to be out of debt. I want a new job. I want to move out of my mom's house. Nobody's gonna give me that. I gotta do that on my own. Here's a suggestion. I want something that you care about giving me. That you took time thinking about. It's one of the things I love about my girlfriend. She always comes up with the perfect gift ideas. Why say what I want for Christmas... If you can't figure something out, just give me the money you were going to spend on me and I'll go buy it myself. At least then I'll get the right size.
So, the whole thing depresses me.


Whatever, sorry for the whole rant thing. Holiday season may depress me, but I still have a good time. And I wish the same on all of you. I love you all.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!