A short little moment of pride 2003-10-01

So, for the second year running, The International Library of Poetry wants to feature me in an anthology as one of the best poets of 2003. That always feels pretty good.
Normally, when you submit something to them, they look it over and consider whether or not they want to include it with the other hundreds of poems in their monthly anthologies. But with this particular anthology, they basically say, "Write whatever you want. We trust your ability." That feels pretty good too.
Oh yeah, for this anthology, they want me to submit a brand new, never-before-published poem, 20 lines long.

And here's what I sent them:


The Debate

I tore down your grudge
Yet you persist in wearing it like the crown of a dethroned king
I've blunted the edge of your denials
But still you think it cuts through arguments like a knife
You've been reduced to hollow, patronizing mumbles
And I'm getting tired
And I'm getting tired of your yelling
As if you have the right
As if you have the right to point any fingers

Your philosophy is beneath you
Yet you expect everyone to rise to your level
We want you to burn the flag of your intolerance
Instead of raising it like the banner of a religion
No one believes in you
No one believes in your brand of God
I hope you give up
I hope you give up the ghost of this fight

Before we all give up on you.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!