When I deal with people, the glass is always half empty. 2003-06-22

So I'm the proud owner of the new Harry Potter book. It was really good. I'm just bummed it didn't last as long I'd hoped.
Not that it's their fault. I'm just a freak who's normal reading pace is 480 words per minute.
Still, I would have hoped 900 pages would have lasted longer than a day...

Anyway, I'm talking to my girlfriend about my latest cyber-sermon, because, well, she didn't like it. So I was trying to figure out what she didn't like about it.
She told me that I was being very hypocritical with it, telling people that they need to start caring more, being active participating members of a democracy, and yet here I am... I don't vote, I don't go on demonstrations, I do very little besides point out the problems.

Of course, that's one of my strongest gifts. To find problems in a system and see the solutions. The problem is that I find the ideal solution, so in the cases when I find problems with society, my solutions require people to transcend their basest human natures of greed and sloth. And the only way they'd work is if people did them en masse.
But she challenged me, asking me how I can expect anyone else to work towards a solution if I'm not even doing it.

So I've been thinking about it. Thinking about what I can start with.
And so I wrote letters to both of my senators, my representative, and my governor expressing my concerns over America's consumption of raw materials, and how our policy of preservation--rather than conservation-- is directly contributing to pollution problems in the rest of the world.

Naturally, I haven't heard anything back.

We'll see if I ever.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!