First Date 2002-06-14

Well, last night I had a first date. Normally it's not that big a deal, but this is the official reemergence of myself into the dating scene since me and my girlfriend broke up.

(Oh yeah, for those who don't know me personally, April and I have broken up)

So I was a little bit nervous. It's been a while since I had to impress anyone.

Of course, another thing to be nervous about was that I'd never met this girl before. Oh yes, she and I were "internet pals." Our communication and contact consisted solely through email and Instant Messenger. Had no idea what she looked like, had no idea if she was being honest when she described herself.

The good thing was, she had the same sense of humor as me, loved books, and was looking forward to meeting as much as I was.

Let me give you a description of what her profile says online:

She's tall, 5'11". Not a problem for me, I'm 6'2"

She used to be a cheerleader, and now teaches cheer to 12yr olds. So of course I got a picture of a stereotypical cheerleader in my head. The bonus is that a)the girls she teaches won the national championships last year, and b) she should be at least in some semblance of physical shape, or else she wouldn't be able to teach.

Her favorite book is Hemmingway's "A Farewell to Arms." I know I haven't read it, but it's been on my list of books to read for a while, just like most of Hemmingway. I saw it in a bookstore the other day, it looked like an easy read.

She likes to debate topics, philosophize, and talk about books. Well that's perfect, so do I. At least we won't lack for conversation.

So we agree to meet at Dave And Buster's for a drink or two and shoot some pool. She likes pool, and isn't too bad at it. (Out of three games she beat me once, and it was very close the other two times.) And so we finally meet.

Her personality is exactly what it was online. Cool. At least she's really fucking cool.

Ah ha! But she's also really cute. Short hair, kind of hawk nose, with a body type similar to mine. Not thin and toned, but not roly-poly either, just enough cushion to keep you warm in the winter. I thought she was very pretty.

Oh ho! and she smokes! Definitely a pleasant change...

So we drink beer and talk. Play pool and talk. We leave and drive down to Costa Mesa, visit the Japanese Rock Garden by South Coast Plaze, and talk. Drink more beer and talk.

We talked a lot, obviously. But it was a really good time. I never had to worry about if I was doing anything wrong.

The only problem that arose is that I was so into what she was saying, that I never really watched her body language. Normally, I'm really good at this. I watch how she sits, or moves, or looks at me, and based on what she's doing, I know whether or not to try to hold her hand, or put my arm around her, or whatever. But I completely missed any body language she might have used, because our conversation was that good.

The problem is when I dropped her off at her car (we met up at D&B's). Saying goodnight and goodbye is awkward enough on first dates, but without studying her body language all night, I have no idea if she even wants me to give her a kiss, which would be awkward anyway because we haven't even so much as shaken hands.

But we awkwardly stumble our way into a kiss, and a promise to do it again, etc. It was nice. I had a great time. Definitely want to go out with her again.

The first is always the hardest.

Looking Back / Glancing Ahead

Shit You Might Want to Know


Name: Michael Drace Fountain
Age: 25
Occupation: Theatre Technician
D.O.B.: 9-16-78
Likes: Rain, Coffee
Dislikes: Close-minded, whiny lemmings
100 Questions
75 Facts

Getting Around

Latest
Greatest
Who the Hell am I?
Who the Hell are You?
Touch Me
Leave me a love letter

Who is Hosting This Shit?

Disclaimer:

These are my thoughts and opinions, not yours. I'm not asking for yours. I don't care about them. If this or anything else I say offends you, go the hell away, and lighten the fuck up.

Site Meter Get Listed!